2 min read" />


Glenmuir Collect Coveted Christer Lindberg Bowl Award at PGAs of Europe Annual Congress2 min read

Posted on: 28th Nov 2012

The PGAs of Europe were proud to present long-time partner, Glenmuir, with an award that is extremely important to the association, recognising the outstanding contribution by the clothing company to the game at this year’s Annual Congress Gala Dinner, hosted at Hotel Vila Galê Lagos, Portugal.

The Chief Executive of the PGAs of Europe, Ian Randell, presented the award to an understandably shocked Colin Mee, Managing Director of Glenmuir, as he himself had no idea of the nomination and subsequent selection.

“It’s been a bit of a surreal year…this tops it all, it’s wonderful. Glenmuir are very much steeped in golf – at all levels of the game we support the amateur bodies, professional bodies right through to the Ryder Cup”, Mee said.

“Listening to the names that are associated with this trophy, I feel quite humbled and I accept the award on behalf of Glenmuir with a huge degree of thanks.”

The Christer Lindberg Bowl is of great importance to the PGAs of Europe as it has been a long-standing award to recognise people who have made a significant contribution to the game in the name of the first Chairman of the PGAs of Europe, Christer Lindberg.

Some past winners of the award include influential figures such as George O’Grady, Peter Dawson, Annika Sorrenstam, the Solheim Family, and PGAs of Europe board member, Ken Schofield, but this is the first time a company has won this prestigious accolade.

Having already received a noted award for 25 years service to the Ryder Cup at nearly 40,000 feet off the ground on the way to Medinah Country Club, from Ryder Cup Team Europe Captain, Jose Maria Olazabal, Glenmuir were brought back to terra firma in Portugal with an award that acknowledges their support of not only the Ryder Cup but also the PGAs of Europe, our national PGAs, PGA Professionals and in fact, their support of golf as a whole.


The PGAs of Europe Annual Congress Gala Awards Dinner also included the presentation of the following awards:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Tony Jacklin CBE
  • President’s Grow the Game Award – Peter Ball
  • The John Jacobs Coach of the Year Award – Dominique Larretche
  • Special Recognition Award – Leif Ohlsson
  • 5-Star Professional Award – John Barnett

For updates, information and news from the Annual Congress 2012, visit the Annual Congress Hub Page, follow @PGAsofEurope on Twitter, or like the PGAs of Europe Facebook Page.

The 2012 Annual Congress was supported by Glenmuir, Associação Turismo do Algarve, Hotel Vila Galé Lagos, Onyria Palmares Beach and Golf Resort, the European Ryder Cup Development Trust, and Rolex – For more information on our partners, visit http://bit.ly/SkAMWD.